The Pixie: April 11, 2016

It’s been a week since I’ve cut my hair. Here’s what I think.

5.jpg

FAQ:
Why did you do it?
Because…I wanted to? Because why not? Life is too short to be left wondering “what if” and for hiding your face from the world. Girls, if you’ve always wanted to try short hair, and were waiting for a sign, this is it. And anyways, you look cute either way.

Do you have any regrets?
Okay, so my session at the barber’s wasn’t like that riveting scene from Les Miserables where Fantine sells her hair. If you’ve seen Roman Holiday, that onscreen cut was more like my experience. My barber asked me over and over again if I had any apprehensions and afterwards, if I had any regrets. I think he felt sorrier about the cut than I did, and was really accommodating. To me though, it felt super liberating! Do you know how amazing it is to be able to use so little shampoo, not have wind-whipped hair in your face, and not face the sleeping problem of the ponytail bump? Plus it takes so little time to style and dry. My only regret is that I didn’t make the cut sooner!

What about that awkward grow-out phase?
Eh, we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. How hard can it be? Bobby pins and hairbands, I guess. Besides, I might keep it this way for a while.

Admittedly, that’s one of the downsides. Also more frequent showers and trims for maintenance. And unfortunately, no more braiding (sorry, Joyce). But to me the pros outweigh the cons.

“A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life.” ~Coco Chanel

It’s not true that you need a heart-shaped face and/or a petite body to rock a certain hairdo. I feel like short hair takes away a veil and puts your face in the center of attention (although long hair is beautiful too, for sure!!) and makes you feel a tad more confident. For me, I see my entire face more often and have ended up loving it more!

Lastly, even if you’re bold enough to do what I did and wind up not liking how you look, remember that hair always grows back! 

First published on FB on April 11, 2016.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

