The Inexhaustible Variety of Life

“I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.” ― F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

As an INFJ, I have a difficult time staying in the present. My inferior function is Se, or extroverted Sensing, so sometimes I find myself detached from the moment and the finer details of my surroundings elude me.

In instances like today, where four years’ worth of students gather in a large room, that tends to happen.

As humans, we tend to separate ourselves from the masses. (Teens enjoy saying: Nobody understands me! Adults admit to feeling lonely even among other people.) But we’re actually more similar than we’d like to care to admit. At the same time, when we realize we’re not so different, our distinctions tend to emerge.

When this happens, every life, every face, seems, to me at least, to become much more precious. When I zone out, like Nick Carraway, I appreciate humanity more.

Wait a minute – is that like saying, you enjoy the concert more when you shove earplugs into your ears? Not exactly.

I think it’s more like putting on a pair of glasses and seeing the world in a new tint.

Sounds absurd to you? Never mind, that’s just my thought of the day. ~Gloria

Leave a Reply

