New Column Launch: “Sun’s Opinion”

I am so excited to announce the launch of my newest column, “Sun’s Opinion”! Thus far my blog has been all about myself, what I have experienced, and the things that I have learned, and I think that it is time to turn my scope of writing to the outside world.

Copy.jpg

I used to hold the same opinion as Henry David Thoreau, the author of Walden.

For my part, I could easily do without the post-office. I think that there are very few important communications made through it….And I am sure that I never read any memorable news in a newspaper. If we read of one man robbed, or murdered, or killed by accident, or one house burned, or one vessel wrecked, or one steamboat blown up, or one cow run over on the Western Railroad, or one mad dog killed, or one lot of grasshoppers in the winter—we never need read of another. One is enough. If you are acquainted with the principle, what do you care for a myriad instances and applications? To a philosopher all news, as it is called, is gossip, and they who edit and read it are old women over their tea. Yet not a few are greedy after this gossip.

But times are different now compared to what they were in the 1800’s. The history of a year seems to be compressed within a week nowadays, because everything happens so fast, and everything affects so many lives.

Are the U.S. presidential elections mere gossip? And the feminist movement? Or the shootings in Orlando? Or that sacrilegious rape committed by the Stanford student? I can no longer remain silent over these issues!

It’s not that times are worse than they were before, it’s just that many things went unnoticed, blended into the social norm in old times. Those issues still existed, it’s just that now the people have more of a voice. And I want to make mine count.

In Dr. Seuss’ “Horton Hears A Who!”, at the climax of the picture book, the mayor holds up the littlest Who to the sky, and his little voice is what raises their Whoville’s volume up to the level of audibility.

Tomorrow is my world, it’s your world, it’s our world. I want to help lay the foundation. I want to build it together.

So thanks for reading, and keep your eyes out for more of my posts to come!

Signature.png

4 thoughts on “New Column Launch: “Sun’s Opinion”

  1. Dalo 2013 says:

    Great use of this quote by Henry David Thoreau, and I would have to say I am going more towards his view rather than away from it ~ my guess is we probably meet in the middle somewhere. I think it is the cynical view of the world that comes with experience that has me moving the other way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gloria Sun (孙诗嘉) says:

      I can understand that perfectly, humankind always seems to be on the brink of change which makes this flux seem like the constant. However, there are issues that I know if they do not affect me, they will affect the people I know, so for me I know I want to take a personal stand and communicate what I think. Thanks a lot for taking the time to comment! ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

