Senior Year Reading List

During my last year of high school, I rediscovered how much I really liked reading. Here are some of the titles I read, with my ratings. I wish I could write reviews on them all, but the ones rated five stars are the ones I really highly recommend! And I would love to discuss any and every one of the books on the list in the comments! Each book has taught me something and I am glad I read every single one of them.

Copy

  1. The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★★
  2. King Lear, William Shakespeare ★★★★
  3. Beloved, Toni Morrison ★★★★
  4. The Silmarillion, J.R.R. Tolkien and Christopher Tolkien ★★★★★
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis ★★★★★
  6. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald ★★★★
  7. Waiting for Godot, Samuel Beckett ★★★★★
  8. Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie ★★★★
  9. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★
  10. Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis ★★★★★
  11. Roverandom, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★
  12. Bilbo’s Last Song, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★
  13. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead, Tom Stoppard ★★★★★
  14. Hamlet, William Shakespeare ★★★★★
  15. Othello, William Shakespeare ★★★
  16. A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin ★★★★
  17. The Children Act, Ian McEwan ★★★
  18. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, James Joyce ★★★★
  19. When I am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple, Jenny Joseph ★★★
  20. Macbeth, William Shakespeare ★★★
  21. Out of the Silent Planet, C.S. Lewis ★★★★★
  22. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams ★★★★★
  23. Bored of the Rings: A Parody, The Harvard Lampoon ★★★★
  24. The Ballad of Reading Gaol, Oscar Wilde ★★★★★
  25. The Children of Hurin, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★
  26. Arson Plus, Dashiell Hammett ★★★
  27. The Bell Jar, Sylvia Plath ★★★★
  28. The Homecoming, Harold Pinter ★★★
  29. Four Quartets, T.S. Eliot ★★★★★
  30. Faust, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ★★★★★
  31. The Hollow Men, T.S. Eliot ★★★★★
  32. The Waste Land, T.S. Eliot ★★★★★
  33. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Jean-Dominique Bauby ★★★★
  34. Beowulf, trans. J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★
  35. Beowulf and the Critics, J.R.R. Tolkien ★★★★★
  36. Principles of Violin Playing and Teaching, Ivan Galamian ★★★★
  37. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley ★★★★
  38. The Tempest, William Shakespeare ★★★★
  39. If, Amy Carmichael ★★★★★
  40. The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho ★★★★★
  41. A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson ★★★★
  42. Walden, Henry David Thoreau ★★★★★
  43. Endgame, Samuel Beckett ★★★★
  44. The Odyssey, Homer ★★★★★
  45. Surprised by Joy, C.S. Lewis ★★★
  46. Theogony, Hesiod ★★★

The following are the titles I have completed over the summer so far (without schoolwork, there’s more time to indulge in this hobby!).

  1. Samson Agonistes, John Milton ★★★★★
  2. Till We Have Faces, C.S. Lewis ★★★★
  3. Homeric Hymns, Homer ★★★
  4. White Tiger Legend, Hu Yuan Nabe ★★★★★
  5. The Stranger, Albert Camus ★★★
  6. A Midsummer Night’s Dream, William Shakespeare ★★★★
  7. One Hundred Years of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez ★★★★
  8. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle ★★★★★
  9. The Jungle Book, Rudyard Kipling ★★★★
  10. Poetry Speaks Expanded (a giant anthology) ★★★★★
  11. Duino Elegies, Rainer Maria Rilke ★★★★★
  12. The Oresteia, Aeschylus ★★★★
  13. V for Vendetta, Alan Moore ★★★★★
  14. The Theban Plays, Sophocles ★★★★
  15. The Secret Garden, Frances Hodgson Burnett ★★★★
  16. How We Die, Sherwin B. Nuland ★★★
  17. Beyond Good and Evil, Friedrich Nietzsche ★★
  18. The Aeneid, Virgil ★★★★
  19. Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami ★★★
  20. Tao Te Ching, Lao Tzu ★★★★★
  21. Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk ★★★
  22. Heart of Darkness, Joseph Conrad ★★★
  23. Dracula, Bram Stoker ★★★★★
  24. The Iliad, Homer ★★★★★

In retrospect, I really do measure my life in books, not dates on a calendar. When I think of a book, that can immediately bring me back to the memories of what happened during the period of time when I was reading it. I feel like I am giving away a big piece of my identity with this post, and I think it’s nice to have this on record for me to refer back to in the years to come.


How many of these books have you read? What have you been reading recently? Do you plan on starting any of these titles soon? Which ones are your favorites? Let’s start a discussion in the comments below!

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 12.02.51 PM

2 thoughts on “Senior Year Reading List

  1. Natalie says:

    Fabulous book list! I also measure my life in books. I haven’t read all of the ones you have listed here, but I’ve read a good number and some of them truly altered how I look at the world. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

