Now a Member of AMWA – and why it matters

Just a quick update:

Today I paid $25.00 to gain membership into the American Medical Women’s Association (AMWA), which will last me all my undergraduate years as a pre-medical undergraduate student.

They are self-described as “The Vision and Voice of Women in Medicine Since 1915”, and have several committees focused on the issues of female physicians and areas concerning women’s health. This includes the Gender Equity Task Force, Physicians Against the Trafficking of Humans, Preventive Medicine, Women’s Health, and more.

It makes me feel much more empowered to belong to a larger body of women who have a cause and who are underrepresented and not listened to enough in a profession of systematically male-centered activity, while healthcare as a service is intended to benefit all genders, ages, and races.

In the (perhaps very near) future, I can expect to volunteer myself to join one of these committees and take part of conferences. Not only will this give me the chance to network and learn from professional women in medicine, I will be helping to make positive change in the world as well.

blog-image

If you would like to donate to or become a member, you can learn more about the American Medical Women’s Association here. I hope you will join the fight for our sisters’ needs!

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 12.02.51 PM

Note: This post was not sponsored or endorsed. I am incredibly honored to leverage my status as a blogger to inform my direct circle of influence about the social causes I care about.

Leave a Reply

