Realignment: What’s My Why? a Mission Statement

All successful companies and people have mission statements. They have something that drives them onward to accomplish what they do. An internal motivation and integrity which stays constant no matter the mood or situation. Here’s mine.

blog-image


During “Family Group” this week, we did an activity for about twenty minutes where we reflected upon the question raised in the following video:

The “what” never changes the first and the second time. It’s the “why” that makes all the difference in the performance.

The following, without much edit from the original, is where I will be placing what I came up with for myself afterwards.

I hope you find reasons for doing the things you do, and reasons for doing them excellently and joyfully. I hope my reasons can inspire yours.


What is my “Why”?

I love knowledge. I seek to understand the world. I think it is my duty to spend my time I’ve been given as well as possible. I hope at the end I have no regrets. I seek to find the better things in life. Not only to survive, but to inspire and create and experience as much as I can before I leave the stage. Experience beauty, the ordinary, the extraordinary. To use the gifts I’ve been given and not to let them fall into decay. To be better than the day before. To put something in the world that wasn’t there before. To understand and think among the greatest minds. To hear stories and create my own. To find a song to sing. To turn my only performance into an aria worth listening to. To understand others without necessarily being understood in return, in a selfless way. To fight injustice, and to love my enemies at the same time.

I still want to feel unique and valuable. I want to want to make others feel valued and loved. I want to enjoy my life and keep busy at the same time. I want to enjoy my work. I want to think thoughts that no human has ever thought of. Push the limit of what we know, because I’m hungry for that. I want to forge paths for humanity.

Where does God stand in my vision? I pray that He is the one guiding that vision, that I align my will with his.

Why Symphony Church Family Group?

This was the second question we tried to answer during the session. To the reader, we can rephrase this as, “Why the people you spend time with?”

I need a community where we are gathered for agape love. I don’t want to be judged or condemned for my imperfections. I want other people in Christ to grow alongside me. I don’t want to not be able to share my revelations and insights with anyone else. To have people to ask questions to, instead of always asking God in the dark alone.

I want to try to be genuinely interested in learning about other people’s lives without caring for what I get in return. I want to be listened to. I want to have people to share my happiness and miseries with. Experience God in different ways. Use my intellect for seeing God’s Word, and being encouraged that it is worthwhile to spend time in it. To worship as a group. To experience the power of group prayer. To have a group where it makes me forgot about how tired and sad I can be.

I know FG isn’t perfect, but neither am I. I accept the sisters here, and I want to feel accepted too.


To the reader, I hope that you will find your own purpose in your life that you steer yourself towards every day. If you fall off course, knowing where your “Northern star” lies will help you get back quickly when you do realize.

Your “creed” doesn’t have to be as long as what I came up with. You can simply have a single-lined saying that directs you or lets others know what you’re all about. So now it may be time to ask yourselves, what am I all about? Define your own success.

And remember, it’s better to go slowly and intentionally than to go nowhere fast.

Love,

Screen Shot 2016-07-29 at 12.02.51 PM

To learn more about Symphony Church and how you can join a Family Group, click here.

Leave a Reply

